A safety app that lets friends digitally walk you home at night

At the same time, Global Positioning System, Mobile app,

A safety app that lets friends digitally walk you home at night

Five students at the university of Michigan developed an app that connects you with a friend to let them keep a virtual eye on you as you walk home from the corner coffee shop, or when you take a taxi across town.

The app lets you select friends from a contact list and then texts them a link to a map. They can then watch as GPS tracks the users movement. It also uses GPS and the phone’s accelerometer — the device that measures speed and direction — to tell if the user is in trouble. The app can tell if the user is pushed or falls down, if the user suddenly starts running or if the phone is snatched from the user.

If the app detects trouble, it asks the user if they are all right, and if the user doesn’t answer within 15 seconds, it turns the phone into an alarm and allows the user to instantly call the police. At the same time, it alerts your contacts that you need help.

What if you had 24-hour protection from Someone who doesn’t need an app to know your whereabouts?

Unless the LORD watches over the city, the watchman stays awake in vain.” (Psalm 127:1)

The truest protection comes from God. When you are constantly in His presence, He will always have your back.

Source: http://www.goodnewsnetwork.org/thousands-use-app-that-lets-friends-digitally-walk-you-home-at-night/

Did you like this? Share it:

Related Post

Privacy Preference Center

Strictly Necessary

Cookies that are necessary for the site to function properly.

gdpr,redux_blast, catAccCookies, JCS_INENREF, JCS_INENTIM, NCS_INENTIM

Performance

These are used to track user interaction and detect potential problems. These help us improve our services by providing analytical data on how users use this site.

_ga, _gid, _gat
IDE, CONSENT, NID, YSC, s_gl, PREF, VISITOR_INFO1_LIVE, gdpr[allowed_cookies], SJECT16

Close your account?

Your account will be closed and all data will be permanently deleted and cannot be recovered. Are you sure?