President Trump’s travel ban comes into effect for six countries

for national security, list of countries,

President Trump's travel ban comes into effect for six countries

A woman happily greets her mother who came in from Jordan. Under the new ban, parents are allowed in the US, but not grandparents. 

Residents of Iran, Libya, Syria, Somalia, Sudan and Yemen who do not have close family ties in the US will be banned from entering the country. Close family ties have been defined as: parent, spouse, fiancé/e, child, son-/daughter-in-law or sibling (step and half siblings included).

Non-close family ties: grandparent, aunt, uncle, niece, nephew, in-law’s and extended family or grandchild.

However, the guidelines state that the family ties must be genuine and not created to gain entry into the US. Furthermore, if people have business and educational ties in the US, they are allowed entry. Moreover, a 120-day ban on refugees who do not have entities or official family ties in the US has been approved. Those with valid visas and legal permanent residents will not be affected.

The implementation of this ban has brought a calmer reaction than when a harsher ban was announced in January, resulting in many protests taking place.

The US President decided to introduce the ban for national security and pointed out the terror attacks that have occurred in Paris, London, Brussels and Berlin as evidence of threats. However, critics have accused President Trump of Islamophobia and have highlighted that these bans will not stop attacks created by people born in America.

However, it is clear that this ban is a little more lenient than the original one implemented in January, which included banning people from a list of countries and a full ban on refugees from Syria.

What do you think of this ban? Do you think it is necessary for the protection of American citizens? Let us know in the comments section below!


Post a Comment